What do you need?

What do you needWhat do you need?

This morning, as soon as I arrived at the Palliative Care Ward, I was ushered inside and informed that things were hectic. There were a large number of cancer patients and one in particular needed attention. A soon-to-be 69-year-old gentleman with metastatic lung cancer was unable to accept his diagnosis. The attending physician had left a note in his file asking our team to help support him.

I was informed that he was one of 12 siblings, two of whom had passed away, one only two weeks prior.

Upon entering the bright, newly renovated, private room, the head of palliative nursing and I gently greeted him and his family, introduced ourselves, and asked permission to visit. He acknowledged us and agreed to our presence. When asked how he was doing, he said he was fine, but very tired, and the site of his recent lung drainage was sore. After a bit of chit chat he told me about his work life which seemed to be the biggest part of his identity. I asked what had brought him to the hospital. He told me that he had fluid on his lungs and needed to be operated on. I asked what was discovered during the operation. He said that there was a growth.

“What kind of growth was it? Do you know?”

“No, I do not, it’s a growth, just a growth…” he replied. I knew he knew that he had cancer and it was evident that he was not about to accept that fact, nor was he able to talk about it.

Without missing a beat, my nurse buddy quietly asked the family to leave with her and to let me be alone with him, so we could really talk.

“I see, so how are you then knowing you have a growth?”

“Indifferent…”

“Wow, how do you do that, most people would be very worried. You seem so brave!”

“No, I am not good at talking.”

“Oh, you seem really good to me”, I said with a big smile. He laughed in return.

We chatted about his moving rooms from the main ward to a private one and how he now sleeps much better and likes it a lot more.

“I have a question” I said and waited.

He shook his head for me to proceed.

“Suppose, and this is just supposing, what if you found out the growth was cancer, what would you feel?”

“I wouldn’t!”

“Would you want to know?”

“No, I would not! But I think my brothers and sisters know already!”

“Oh, okay, so they most likely know what your diagnosis is. You are alright with that?”

“Yes! They chose to move me into this room. They are looking after me.”

“It sounds like they really care for you and you feel you are in good hands. Many patients want to know what is up with them, so they can make their own choices. My job is to make sure you get what you want. What do you want? Do you want me to ask the doctor to tell you your diagnosis, or do you want your family to know and make choices for you?”

“I want my family to make choices!”

“That’s fine. Why do you not want to know or make choices?”

“Because it makes me worried and uncomfortable.”

“And it helps you to rest and relax knowing that your family will take care of you and make choices for you. What if the news, and this is just supposing again, was that there was cancer and it was possibly untreatable? Would that change things. Would you be afraid.”

“No, I cannot change what is, if that’s the case. I would like to be here, comfortable, and to have my family care for me.” He said as if gesturing that his family was surrounding him. He went on to say that he was not comfortable at home as it was hot and noisy.

“Okay, please help me. If I understand you correctly, you do not want to know about your sickness in detail. You want your family to do what they are doing, and you are peaceful in regard to any outcomes? Is that correct? You must tell me if I am wrong as I only want to make sure you get what you need. It’s my job to help you get what you need, if I can. Is this what you want?” I asked.

“Yes, that’s right! I liked being a driver, it was easy, simple. When the day was done, I’d come home and rest.” he said and smiled. I could see that while seemingly random and off topic, that he viewed quality of life as being an extension of his work life and the simple rest that came with it was of utmost importance to him.

“So, right now, the thing you want it seems is to rest and be comfortable, so we’ll help you rest. We’ll inform your family and they will make choices for you, unless you decide to change that! Is that a good idea?”

“Yes, they are good to me. If they say do this or that, I’ll do what they say! That’s what I want!”

“Right then, what about me, can I visit you again and see how you are?”

“Oh yes, you have beautiful eyes….” he said with a chuckle. I took his hand in mine and thanked him.

A moment later my nurse buddy came back and joined us as the family sat in the waiting room.

“I’ve had a lovely chat with ‘Uncle’, and he said he really likes this room and is happy for his family to make choices for him at this point. He does not want to know too much news. He wants them to choose for him and he wants to be comfortable and rest here for now.” I informed her as he nodded in agreement.

I gave him a kiss and bade him goodbye. He looked more relaxed after our conversation. My wording, really re-wording his own words, in regard to his needs seemed to achieve that.

Later, we sat with his family and told them they were doing a wonderful job as their brother really trusted them and was leaving choices up to them at this point. He was presently alright with even a bad case scenario or outcome. They were teary eyed, but also relieved that at least they were getting it right in his eyes.

For me, empowerment would mean knowing everything and being in on all choices. For “Uncle” it was the opposite. A patient has the right to have all information given to him or her, and in this case, the patient has the right to not know until he is ready, if he ever is! Honoring his wishes is the beginning of helping him hopefully trust our team so that we can continue to articulate and act upon his further needs as they arise during his journey with terminal illness. Most of all, I pray that by allowing him to lead us, he can feel at peace and achieve a good quality of life and truly live until he dies!

Susan Dustin “Dusty”  Hattan (Aldous) – An Arsenal of Optimism
© Susan Dustin Hattan (nee Aldous) June 2018

4 thoughts on “What do you need?

  1. Again, Dusty, a very thoughtful post. It seems almost a handbook for how to interact and provide care for someone you’ve only just met…. for instance…… the very important introduction and asking permission to be there.

    I noticed that in this case you specifically let “uncle” guide you toward what he desired, rather than you trying to guide him towards what you might feel he needs.

    Is this case specific, or more a general rule of thumb? Are there times when you might feel it more appropriate to help guide the patient in another direction?

    Interesting reading, as always : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fabulous questions and insight Derek. I’d say that the rule of thumb is to be patient centered in all our actions, to be led by their need. Sometimes they may not know what they really need so we can gently guide, if appropriate. We should not force. However, as you saw, In many ways I let him know what the possible information was, where it was, how to get it, but let him decide what he needed at this point. As he goes further towards his death, he may change his mind and open up and receive more, but no matter, we can make him as happy as we can by letting him choose. When we enter hospital we lose so much power, why take more away? Let’s give as much back as we can. Cheers dear soul….

      Like

  2. Thank you so much Dusty. Not an easy part to deal with in life. I do get very emotional on behalf of others when they have to meet and face facts with health issues like this. A few weeks ago one of my dear close friends passed away. Such a beautiful girl, mother and had also just become a grandmother. Just thinking of what she went through and her family now coping with her absence makes me cry. I have to fight sadness. You know I have my deep belief in the hereafter, and that there is a time for everyone. Still the process I am not comfortable with. There has been so many passings of family and friends these past years. Now also with Jenny Kristine battling. God knows we are many that surrounds her with our prayers. Thank you for praying for her Dusty. Her inflammation on both bladder and intestines are not dropping. She is well cared for in the hospital. She has been a real trooper but I do notice she has become very weak and her spirit is low. The medicine is making her blurred in her thoughts. So at present I am sad, I get mad and filled with emotions. In my heart I so much would want her to heal and have some good years as she was about to retire from years of hard work. Was so much looking forward to that. I will keep on keeping on looking and claiming His promises. He knows! Thank you for listening and for praying for dear Kristine. Especially that the infections will clear and for the doctors wisdom in attending to her. I love you! Big hugs from Eva and Erik sends his love.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Eva, that is a difficult set of circumstances. Yes, I relate to the sadness, the anger, the worries and the seeming sense of it’s not really fair. I experience these things with the loss of friends and loved ones. I have low grade depression still after Pat, Michael (his angleversary today) and Martin’s deaths. These losses took a lot out of me.

    Seeing lives pass quickly and unexpectedly makes me want to not wait to live my life. I believe that every day is not a given…

    I will keep praying for Jenny, and hope that she can get what she needs, as she needs it and that you can be a blessing in her situation.

    Big love,
    Dusty

    Like

Leave a comment